What is the difference between visible, hidden and disabled in my page details?
Leave this field empty
Monday, October 19, 2015 12:52PM
Pin It

When you're working on the Page Details section of your Web Pages, you may notice an option that always pops up: Page Visibility. Sometimes the difference between the three options can be confusing, so we'd like to clear up any questions. 

First of all, we like to give our clients the option to create as many pages as they like, and we know that some pages you don't want anyone to be able to access, and some pages you may only use seasonally. This is why we have three options available for you to use: Visible, Hidden, and Disabled.

Visible is the default setting every page will get when it is added to your control panel. It means that this page is accessible both in the menu and with the direct page link. Anyone that can access your website can access this page. Google will also index this page as an individual page on your website.

Generally speaking, most of the pages on your website will be visible.

Hidden allows you to control who has access to this page, as a hidden page is only accessible via the direct page link. You can find the direct page link in the page details section as well as under the title of the page in your control panel. Generally speaking, your direct page link will be in this format: yourdomainname.com/direct-page-link, where yourdomainname.com is your website address, and everything after the slash is the name of the page, with dashes replacing spaces in the name. 

A page that is hidden is not accessible through the menu, so you will have to provide someone with the direct page link in order for them to view the page. Since the page is still accessible through the direct page link, it is possible that Google may index this page, but it is not probable because there will be much less traffic accessing this page comparative to the other pages on your website that are visible.

A hidden page is useful for housing pricing information, when you want potential customers to contact you first and you provide them with the pricing information after you receive their contact information.

Disabled makes a particular page completely inaccessible. It will not appear in the menu and it also will not be accessible using a direct page link. If you try to access the direct page link, you will be redirected to the home page of the website. In the same way, Google will not be able to index disabled pages because their direct page link is inaccessible. The only way to access information on a disabled page is through your control panel.

You may wonder why you would ever use the disabled feature if it is completely inaccessible to the public, why not just delete the page? There are times when you may need the information on the page, but you don't want anyone else to be able to access it. An example of this would be a special that you only run certain times of the year. When you're not running the special anymore, but you know you will run the same special next year, it is a good idea to disable the page. This way, customers won't see your lower prices that aren't available, but when you're ready to run the special again, you won't have to recreate the page from scratch. All you'll need to do is make it visible again.

Anytime you change your page visibility, make sure to click on save changes and if you're using a Portfolio Site, make sure to also publish your site after the changes are saved.

Leave a comment: